Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi. Posted this over at GWRRA but not much of a reply and I could use some more info from this august group.

------
I’m looking for ideas / your experience regarding wind noise and options for handling it. I’ve been riding for 28 years, but this is my first Goldwing. I love it in every other way but am disappointed in the wind noise. Lots of turbulence behind the fairing. Here’s where I’m at and what I’m thinking. I’d welcome any insights:

- pretty much stock 2010 GL1800 (for now)
- I’m 6’5” and my wife on the pillion is 5’2”. We ride w/ ear plugs.
- At highway speeds I get a lot of noise; her, not so much (isn't it usually the other way?). For me, it drowns out the headset audio that, at lower speeds, has got TONS of volume. Wind noise is MUCH louder than my old Harley with no windshield.
- I’ve tried all the different windshield height settings, and the vent open / closed. Not a huge difference that I’ve noticed.
- I’ve tried two different helmets, not much of a difference. Primary is a Nolan 103, alternate HJC SyMax II. A little more low freq noise in the SyMax but neither is OK. Both are very quiet if I stand up on the pegs and get my head into clean air.

I’m pretty much thinking there’s nowhere decisive to go but to a WindBender. Could tinker with Baker Hand Wings or such but I’m thinking that’s more icing than cake.

My questions:
1. Anything else I should seriously consider? I want to look over, not through the windshield. I ride in all weather except snow/ice on the road.
2. Any tall guys with similar experience? Does the WindBender HP work for you?