Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So first off I am working on a 1985 Honda GoldWing 1200 Limited. This bike has 25,000 miles that was put on it in the first two years of its life. Then she went into storage for the past 20 some years. It was in perfect running condition when it was put into storage. I did clean out the fuel enough to get it to start and idle around a year ago but now it time to do it right.
So I know I have to remove both wheels and replace both tires and inspect the brakes, and brake system. I also plan to replace the timing belts, fluids, and whatever else that I find that needs it, hoses, wires, ect. Also I noticed the front fork seals leaked so I will be replacing the seals there as well.
So I’ve never worked on a bike like this before so please correct me if I’m wrong, that’s why I’m here. BTW you don’t have to be a pro to have an opinion so please weigh in. If you were going to do this job, where would you start and in what order would you do things?
Are there any special tools I would need?
Does the whole exoskeleton need to come off for the above mentioned tasks (would that make it easier) and if so what’s the best order to achieve this?

I plan to;
1) Get It on the center stand.
2) Remove the seat, side covers and false tank.
3) Remove the side trunks (and the rear trunk I think) and rear fender.
4) Remove the front disc covers, disc cover lights, front brakes and fender.
At this point I will see what else I will need to remove to flush out and replace all gaskets for the entire (front/back) brake system. Also I will flush the water system, drain the motor oil, drain and flush the fuel system and change the gear oil in the drive train. (did I miss anything yet?)
Do you need to pull the motor out to replace the timing belts? (would it make it easier?)