Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Banned
3,204 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a guy who drives on the top half of my gas tank in my truck. It doesn't cost any more to do so.

However, my Goldwing gas gauge is not honest. I only have 6.2 gallons of fuel to use. When my gauge is on the red.... on the bottom side of red..... I still have a gallon of fuel to use. Why do I have to guess how much of the last 20% of the fuel that I have left.

Or am I missing something? I am not good at letting things run out of gas. How far beyond the red does the gauge go? I see when it is full....it is over the red some. Is that the same on the empty side?

Help me. This produces anxiety that I feel is unnecessary.

·
Super Moderator
15,235 Posts
my 1500 wing has the same problem with the fuel guage but i worry more when the fuel light comes on cause big bikes like ours don't go far on a gallon ofgas

·
Banned
3,204 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
my 1500 wing has the same problem with the fuel guage but i worry more when the fuel light comes on cause big bikes like ours don't go far on a gallon ofgas
My Interstate does not have a fuel light. I am flying blind. I carried a quart fuel bottle when on this trip. At one fuel stop.... I put on 5.75 gallons of gas.... so I still had .5 gallon. 17 miles at best. The quart would have added another 7 miles or so. Better than pushing it.

·
Super Moderator
15,235 Posts
you might have to do something as simple as clean the connector on the tank to actually removing the sending unit and readjusting the float

·
Super Moderator
9,843 Posts
I think mine hits E when there is about 1.5 gallons left. Have not had the low fuel light come on yet...

·
Registered
280 Posts
I am a guy who drives on the top half of my gas tank in my truck. It doesn't cost any more to do so.