Honda Goldwing Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I spent all weekend trying to choose between a 1999 BMW K1200 LT, a 2003 BMW R1200 CL, (my car is a BMW, so a little biased here),and a 1990 Goldwing 1500 SE. After much research, and indecision, I ruled out the R1200 CL. It was only around for a couple of years, before BMW discontinued that model. A lot of negative reviews on this bike. The K1200 LT, was about a 7 hour drive away, and the Goldwing was for sale here locally. I have always admired the Goldwings, and have enjoyed myself the couple of times friends of mine allowed me to ride theirs. Anyway, I am new to the big touring bikes, and the Goldwing was so darn prettyy....a very clean bike for it's age, so I went with it. I rode it about 50 miles today, and was very impressed. Smooth, and I was at 75 mph without even realizing it. I think I made the right decision, and am looking forward to putting many miles on this big hog. Of course, riding season is coming to an end...but, I will squeeze in a few rides when winter rolls around. Glad to have found this group, and I'm looking forward to reading the posts from some of the 'seasoned', and not so seasoned Goldwing riders:)

·
Premium Member
7,982 Posts
Howdy Quack! Welcome to the GWOF!

In short order you'll experience the thing that impresses all of us with Wings, of whatever vintage: Perfect balance + low center of gravity + any momentum = amazing handling for their weight.

Have fun and ride safe! Oh, and post pics!:D

·
Premium Member
5,432 Posts
Welcome from Maryland

Sent from my iPhone using Motorcycle

·
Administrator
29,019 Posts
Welcome to the GWOF from the Keystone State. Enjoy both the new ride & the site.

Pictures of the bike. Yes:D

·
Super Moderator
10,003 Posts