Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
just bought an 86 1200 aspencade checked oil and there is water in the oil ..also dripping oil from front engine cover seals.

the question here is this. could the engine cover front seals and water pump seals be leakng into the oil or would it be more likely the head gasket? spent 20 years as auto mechanic so im not too dumb
but never tore into a bike motor.

Bike seems to be running perfectly. rock steady idle at 980 rpm
runs smooth. not like a typical blown head gasket on a car would run.

·
Super Moderator
11,809 Posts
First of all, welcome to the forum.

How much water are we talking? Is it possible it's just condensation?

·
Administrator
26,266 Posts
Well, I'm no mechanic, but water in the oil isn't a good thing. As for the leaking/seepage, that's likely a seal or gasket thing and should also be attended too (obviously). I'm thinking if the bike starts and idles fine, there isn't lots of water in there, but water and internals don't go together well so troubleshoot it now to avoid corrosion inside the mill.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
more than condensation ..also found out there is water in the cylinder. going to order the gaskets and do the top end tomorrow

on dip stick its about 1/2 quart over full

caught it as soon as it happened so unlikely theres any other damage i think

·
Super Moderator
7,671 Posts
Welcome to the forum jdoll3,
I'd check the mechanical seal at the water pump too.
Basically Goldwing engines are miniature car engines.
Get a service manual preferably factory, if not Clymer.

·
Registered
1,099 Posts
Welcome from Vermont! Great site and sometimes good info!! Great bunch of peeps here.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #7

·
Registered
16 Posts