Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Beware, Had my 2008 level 2 bike lowered @ 7000 miles by the Honda dealer using the Lowering Wing Product bracket. At 10,500 miles I had the 12,000 mile service done early because of a long trip I was about to take. The dealer informed me that my head bearings should and needed be replaced. I thought the head bearing issue was about the 35,000 to 40,000 mile range problem. I have the extended warranty and figured it would be covered at such low miles. Wrong, Honda said I changed the suspension of the bike and they would not cover it. I'm not an engineer but how does lowering the rear 1" have any bearing on the steering head particuarly after only 2500 miles.

·
Registered
86 Posts
Not sure about in your state, however, in California 'any modifications' DO NOT automatically mean that Honda can invalidate the warranty. They must show, specifically, how the modification caused the issue. You may need to sue in small claims court-real easy to do.

·
Registered
1,482 Posts
Been though this so many times!!!!!!!
Bottom line for you and the other posters
Doesn't matter what state your in, doesn't matter how you interpret the MM law, following is the best I can explain this issue.
Any modification made or accessory added that is not approved by the vehicle manufacturer and not installed by an authorized tech at an authorized dealership of that manufacturer MAY result in a denial of warranty coverage for a claim in which the manufacturer determines said mod or accessory could be blamed for the failure.
This should not void the entire warranty.
A perfect example is a trike conversion. In most cases, if the manufacturer becomes aware the bike has been "triked", if you have a drive train failure, warranty coverage will be denied.
Also, if you challenge a denial, it will be up to you to prove the mod or unapproved accessory do not cause the failure.

·
Administrator
26,266 Posts