Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Administrator
26,266 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, so I'm just about at the point where I've mustered up enough courage to do the backrest install on my '09. One major concern still nags at my innards though. I've got nearly 30 years of experience with every type of butcher knife made, but I'm at a loss as to what length, shape and style of blade to make the fatal cut with. What kind of knife did most of you use to cut the hole in the seat?

·
Premium Member
356 Posts
Budoka

I used a serrated edge knife with a pointed blade which was about 10" long.

·
Premium Member
1,404 Posts
At least you can hide your mistake by just sitting down.

I am guessing you are cutting clear thru in the middle of the seat. I would cut right in the middle where it won't matter to test out my blade. I would want to use a hacksaw blade that has a handle just on the end. Seems it would be a little slow but it should cut with control.

As you said, you first have to find your inner beast, find that turkey cutter and man up.
Good luck.

·
Super Moderator
15,240 Posts
wanna borrow my sawzall :)

·
Registered
741 Posts
I used a knife, don't know what its for, but it was about 11' long, pointed, serrated on both sides, and about 1" wide. Getting the cut and everything to bolt together was more difficult than I had expected. I'm guessing its a bit hit and miss. Luckily, everything worked out.

·
Registered
2,835 Posts
The instructions are good, I used a razor to make the slit in the seat and then a long serrated knife. Takes a lot of in and out movements to get all the padding out of the way but it is doable.
Here are the instructions and at the end in blue letters there is a video of how to do it
http://www.goldwingfacts.com/1800Utopiabackrest.htm

·
Premium Member
17,146 Posts