Honda Goldwing Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I just bought a 1990 1500 SE. So far, happy with the bike. She seems a little cold blooded, but once the engine is warm, the bike runs like a champ. My question is this. Do you ride your Goldwing exclusively? Or, do you have a smaller bike for commuting and riding around town, and use the Wing for longer "road trips"? Just curious...thanks in advance. Also, let me apologize in advance. I am new to the Goldwing world, so I may have a lot of questions. But, I also hope to contribute to the forum as well. Rick

·
Premium Member
5,355 Posts
I only have a goldwing to ride.

·
Registered
363 Posts
My previous 97 Valkyrie had the 1500 engine. I'd imagine that it's very similar to yours. She was also a bit,, "stiff", when first started, especially in the cooler weather. You have to remember that these are carburetor engines and that's just the nature of the beast, lol. It's really not a negative aspect, just something that you have to get use to.

My present wing is my only bike (or maybe I should say, trike, lol). These Goldwings are capable of any kind of commuting. Wether it's local 'stop & shop', commuting to work or the long touring trips, the Wings are at home in any and all types of uses. Of course, this is MHO. :)

·
Registered
6,713 Posts
I have a 1300 VTX that sits in my shed. I rode it once this summer.

·
Administrator
29,002 Posts
Ahh quack, some of us here do have multiple rides. At present when my wife was unable to ride any longer we sold our Wing & right now I have my Nighthawk only. However when she was riding we had the 2 bikes just for that reason. I only have a 5 mile commute to work & just to drag the Wing out for that was more trouble sometimes than it was worth. Also when you're finished with your chores on a Sat afternoon & you want to take a quick ride.