Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the Goldwing family and am looking at an '87 1200 with 34K miles. Need info such as useful life of the engine and any other useful info for a novice.

·
Registered
2,835 Posts
Engine is good for about 200,00 miles if treated right, the weak spot is the stator, if and when it goes out it's about $1,000 to replace. Check and see if the owner has replaced it yet.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Joe why so high? I have a new (to me) 81 that has 38,000. It does not charge the batt. so i'm thinking I have a stator problem.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Joe,
Thanks for the info. This is what I need to make a decision and would appreciate any other advise concerning the purchase of a used Goldwing.

·
Super Moderator
9,845 Posts
Can't help you much with your questions about a 1200 since I never owned one, but I can welcome you to the forum from the Keystone state. Ride safe what ever you have and enjoy the forum. Lots of good info and folks on here...

·
Administrator
26,270 Posts