Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
does anyone know the correct way to transport a wing. I have a wheel dock/chock, need info on tie-downs, placement, type, etc.

·
Administrator
26,270 Posts
Best to use a four point tie-down, and use the heavy braided 1" ratchet straps, not just the cinch style straps as they can come lose. I always use the engine guard and bag guards as hook-up points. Use enough tension on the straps to compress the suspension adequately. Don't leave it on the stand either. You shouldn't have to worry about the front wheel moving if you have the wheel dock properly set.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks. I have called 5-6 Honda dealers and looked on line. No one seems to know, for sure. Dealers tell me to use "Canyon Carvers", a handlebar strap system, others say use the case and bag guard bars, others say only the frame. I am new to the "wing", but can't understand why this info is so, so hard to find. Even the owners manual doesn't tell you anything more than "make sure you have a flat bed and secure the motorcycle". This is a popular bike, am I the only one to want to transport it?

·
Super Moderator
9,852 Posts
This is a popular bike, am I the only one to want to transport it?
I guess for most of us we just ride it. Not a lot of Wings on trailers. But I know there are times when riding is not practicle and you need to transport. I've never done it but it would seem to me that the engine and saddlebag guards are a good place to start. You might also want to use the seat handles since they are up higher and might provide more stability. I think the problem with attaching directly to the handlebars is all the controls that exist there and damage to wires and cables. Hope others can provide some input as well. Good luck and Ride (or trailer) safe..

·
Registered
692 Posts