Honda Goldwing Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all...

I recently bought an '82 Interstate fairly cheap simply because it's been sitting for over 10 years in a friends pole building.
It's in ok shape and all, and after rebuilding the carbs, brakes and a few other things I'm going to be replacing the timing belts and installing an aftermarket digital instrument cluster this weekend. (The speedometer screams while moving (even after a new speedo cable) and the tach is bouncy)

For starters, I've been an ASE tech for over 15 years and have experience working on pretty much everything with an engine and wheels that requires a license plate.

Now being that the bike is almost 40 years old with about 45k miles on it, is the reason I'm doing the belts.
I have the original "service manual", but when it comes to the timing belts there is very little info in the manual.
I've already watched a few youtube vids and searched quite a bit through this site, but I'm having an issue finding the torque specs for the timing cover as well as the belt tensioner bolts.... And I'm picky as hell when it comes to re-installing certain things perfectly - especially when it takes hours to do the work.

As far as part numbers go...
I already purchased the belts on Amazon - T274 Gates
Though since I'm planning on removing the radiator completely, I'd like to replace the upper and lower hoses. So does anyone know if there are aftermarket hoses available (gates?) that I can purchase or would I be better off buying bulk hose in that diameter and cutting what I need?

Thanks in advance for info given.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Don’t know exactly what reference manuals you have, so here is a couple of links. I also do not see a specific torque value for those bolts. Maybe go with the standard torque according to bolt diameter. Hope this helps. Keep us posted on your progress. Everyone loves it when a bike comes back from the dead.

·
Registered