Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
At 9300 miles it's time for new shoes already on my 10 wing.
The front is worn and the rear is cupping badly but still has 1/2 the tread left. I am new to wings. After reading here and other sites I have decided to go with Bridgestones. My local dealer wants $75
per wheel for installation- is this in line? These wings are hard on tires. Thanks for any feedback.

·
Premium Member
23,774 Posts
Here in Manassas VA, I paid $321.06 for a Metzeler 880 rear. Tire was $225.99 and mounting was $62.40. taxes, valve stem, etc, made up the rest of the final cost. Front tire was $143.99 for tire , mount and balance was $43.20.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Do you have a Cycle Gear store in your area: $20 a tire if you buy from them, $30 if you bring in your own. That's mounted and balanced on a carried in wheel. They won't lay a hand on your bike.

·
Registered
2,835 Posts
Seems prices varies with your location, Most places in Calif charge about $125 to $150.00 to mount and balance both wheels if you ride the bike in. Most will do it for $25.00 a wheel if you bring the wheels in yourself. The back is easy to take off and you can save money by taking that in yourself and then riding the bike in to get the front done, where are you located? Sometimes you will find a shop that is having a sale and get a deal on it.

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the input Joe. I am in Bend, OR., not a lot of options for dealers here but thought I would also check some Indy's. What started this whole thing was the parts guy at the dealer says they have "the lowest prices in the world on tires." lol
After checking online -they don't ! I figured OK if they had decent prices on the tires
the $75 ea for mounting was probably reasonable.

·
Registered
132 Posts