Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
320 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So give me some advice on riding a Wing. Mine is a 1990 SE. The last big heavy bike was a 47 Indian Chief when I was 23. I'm sure this one will handle much better but never the less I'm a little nervous. So any tips would be greatly appreciated. Doug

·
Premium Member
344 Posts
While I am no expert with the Wing yet, I just got mine last weekend and have only ridden it a couple of times so far......it's been at the dealership having some maintenance done, I have been riding a Suzuki Volusia a 600lb bike itself, the weight of the Wing will disappear once you are moving at any speed, where I can feel the weight of it is in slow speed maneuvers, parking lots, around gas pumps, etc, probably will be even heavier with someone on the back with you. Just be careful with slow speed maneuvers and don't ride 2 up until you are comfortable with it on your own and you will probably be fine.

You might consider taking the Motorcycle Safety Foundation course if you haven't ridden for a number of years

OOOH- Countersteering.....practice your countersteering, you willl need to be able to lay the bike over quickly and without thinking about it in an emergency avoidance maneuver.

I'm sure someone here with more "Wing" experience will give you better advice than me

·
Premium Member
7,167 Posts

·
Premium Member
17,042 Posts
So give me some advice on riding a Wing. Mine is a 1990 SE. The last big heavy bike was a 47 Indian Chief when I was 23. I'm sure this one will handle much better but never the less I'm a little nervous. So any tips would be greatly appreciated. Doug
When was it you last rode ?? If a long time take local MSF course.
One thing to do is find a empty parking lot some place and practice braking, and slow speed riding. Turns,loops figure 8's.
Besure you are comfortable with the bike before you take you Bride for a ride.