Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have a 1980 naked GL1100 that I have been working on since 2006. this last piece is a mystery to me and no one I have asked can offer an explanation.
My bike eats up a quart of oil every 100 miles. the mystery part is: that it isn't smoking
There are no visible leaks where it is parked.
It runs smooth and does around 32 mpg.
The spark plugs look good and no sign of fouling.
People that ride behind me complain that it stinks. I did find some "sweating" from the bottom of both valve covers (I recently did the head job and perhaps I didn't place the valve covers well (new valve cover seals.) and I think it occasionally drips on the pipes and stinks as it is burned off by the pipe.
Any thoughts? a direction? I thought it may need rings but a friend said that if it was loosing that kind of oil it would be bellowing so much smoke that I would be pulled over in a heart beat.
Any thoughts?
:eek:

·
Super Moderator
9,877 Posts
Well I'm in no way a mechanic and I'm not telling you anything you don't already know, but it seems to me that missing oil has to
1. be burned off
2. leaking out
3. mixing with something else.

It seems to me that a quart in 100 miles would be noticable somewhere, but if it's droping down onto a hot surface it would evaporate quickly, but you would have a smell lingering on the hot surface. If it's mixing with water then it would show up on in the radiator. You say you don't see smoke out the exhaust but you might try placing an old teeshirt about 6 inches from the exhaust and reving up the engine and see if you get any oil splater out the pipe.

Other than those things I don't have a clue. Unless someone is stealing oil from your bike at night. (LOL) Good luck, I hope you find the problem and can get out and ride.

·
Registered
689 Posts