Honda Goldwing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there forum,

I'm in the process of supercharging a 1976 GL1000. I'm 3d printing an airbox, running roughly 5lbs of boost. This is my first attempt at forced induction. I'm not looking for insane power gains or anything, I'm more concerned with the engines longevity.

I've been following what Randakk did with his Supercharged gl1000 build. I was going going to add an external oil cooler to the engine and run a single carb off a VW Beetle that I had on the bike before starting this project.

If the above sounds good than I'll keep running with it. What I'm stuck on right now is timing and ignition changes.

I want to prevent detonation in this bike without having to use methanol injection or something. I was planning on getting a CB750 dyna 2000 unit so I could program the advance and set rpm limits. I'm most concerned with boost affecting this bikes rev limiter and me blowing past redline and blowing the engine. That's why the rev limiter programmer on the dyna 2000 unit is so appealing if it's possible to use. Could I program a rev limiter and have enough timing control for my needs with only the dyna S unit? Or do have to go all out and fab a petronix unit up to the cam shift like randakk did in his build? Should I be doing anything else for bike longevity?!

Sorry if this is long winded. I'm stuck at home with covid and have a real urge to finish this project haha!

Edit:
Dyna unit I am referring to: https://www.dynaonline.com/dyna-200...-1978-honda-500-550-750-four-cylinder-ddk1-2/

Randakk build I am referring to: https://www.dynaonline.com/dyna-200...-1978-honda-500-550-750-four-cylinder-ddk1-2/

·
Registered
7,797 Posts
Welcome to the forum. That sounds like an interesting and challenging project. We do have a number of members that have racing backgrounds. Hopefully some of them will be able to help.

·
Registered
848 Posts