Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need to replace the stator in my 86' Wing. Can anybody point me towards a good resource for helping me get the procedures for doing something like this? I'm a good mechanic but have only owned my wing for a short time and I'm unsure about this repair.
Thanks for any help you can give this new Wing owner.

·
Registered
24 Posts
There is a website with lots of resources for DIY mx on your Goldwing and any other GW's. It's (Goldwingdocs.com). You have to register and there are no fees ,dues or any charges, the manuals and Service Bulletins are FREE. I have got all kinds of stuff for my 1990 Standard. A great website resource.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I have one more question for you guys. When I took the side cover off my 86 SEi I noticed the three yellow wires going to the stator had been spliced before and had burnt off. There was no connector. I was going to try to just splice them together and start the bike up to see if the stator was indeed burnt out but I cannot tell which wire went to which. I looked at the wiring diagram and it does not indicate which one goes where. I am just wondering if it matters. Thoughts?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Order not important, good solder is though.

The order does not matter because it is an alternator and the voltage produced by the rotor/stator combination alternates from one leg (yellow wire) to the next during operation. Whoever tried to fix the stator connection problem screwed it up. Most people cut out the OEM connectors and solder the wires together to eliminate the hot spot problem. Probably had cold solder joints that came apart. Use a high wattage solder gun/iron to heat up those large diameter wires so that you get good solid solder joints and all should be well.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #8