Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I started out on a Goldwing GL 1800 as my first bike. I had taken the motorcycle safety course before buying my bike. I started riding it slow around neighboorhood streets in the early morning when there was no traffic. I then started riding on heavily traveled main streets and hiways in the early morning when there was light traffic. I dont speed and am a very conservative rider and have not had any problems. I thought you could start out on any bike because you have to get the feel of it. If you can already ride a motorcycle and pass the motorcycle safety course why is it better to start out on a small light motorcycle as your first bike purchase?

·
Registered
25 Posts
I would think it would partly depend on the person. Not everyone would feel comfortable starting out on a larger, heavier motorcycle. In addition, if you go down on a heavier motorcycle there is probably a greater change of injury. So I think it's really just a matter of hedging ones bets, but as you've said, it's certainly possible to start big. I'll admit that a part of me wishes I had just gone ahead and started with something larger, but at the same time I had a lot of fun on my smaller cruiser even if I did trade it out 2 1/2 years after getting it so I got my moneys worth.

·
Registered
17 Posts
I think as long as your are a sensible person you could start on a Hayabusa but probably not a boss Hoss. I had a rear tire blow on a V8 Kannon once, that was exciting. I did not go down but I finished up in the ditch on the other side of the road and I was 2 up.
Point being, experience played a role in the outcome I'm sure. Only thing that happened to me was temporary hearing loss due to the screams coming from the passenger.:eek:

·
Registered
64 Posts