Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi ! I'm new to list and just purchased a 95 GL 1500SE Trike. Bike starts great but only on release of start button. Is this normal? Seems as if the starter is killing the ignition circuit which becomes energized as starter motor stops. Problem?? Solution?
Thanks

·
Registered
67 Posts
I have a '95 Interstate and I had the same problem. I've heard some folks say that replacing the battery resolved their issue and others have stated that it was a dirty connector.

In my case, I unplugged the P9 connector (behind the lower right fairing cover) and sprayed both sides of the connector(male/female parts) with contact cleaner. Now it starts as soon as I press the starter button.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks djoyner! I'm going with the dirty connector as the battery is strong. Heck! I've got the lowers off as am about to change the timing belts, so will check all the connections. Will report back!

·
Registered
116 Posts
Most of my issues on my 89 have been with contacts. Last 2 issues are reverse and cruise for me. When I did my timing belt I also put in the advanced timing trigger wheel. It made a big difference in the old girl. No more hesitation when I roll out from a stop or off idle. That and my friends 97 dosen't leave me a few lengths behind anymore...

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Hi Dennis
Yes I have Rudy's guide at my side thanks. BTW I like your web site. Been to most locations. Should be back at the Tail this spring. ( 5th visit).

Glen ( southern Ontario)

·
Registered
67 Posts
Hi Dennis
Yes I have Rudy's guide at my side thanks. BTW I like your web site. Been to most locations. Should be back at the Tail this spring. ( 5th visit).

Glen ( southern Ontario)