Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
1500 Interstate, cannot reinstall starter

I'm trying to get my Wing back on the road after two years of sitting. The starter didn't engage at all so I cleaned out the contacts and tested the starter and it spins but doesn't engage. I'm probably missing something simple and thought I might ask for advice before preceding. The starter is out of the bike. I'm a total novice so keep that in mind...:laugh2:
-----------------------------------------------------------------
Title change;
Here is my problem, when I pulled the starter this gear fell off into the motor and literally hell was paid to get it out again. I really need some advice on putting this back together. Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

Attachments

·
Registered
7,152 Posts
I suggest a load test on the battery unless you have already done that. A weak battery is usually the culprit when a bike won't start.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Need help reinstalling starter

Here is my problem, when I pulled the starter this gear fell off into the motor and literally hell was paid to get it out again. I really need some advice on putting this back together. The gear doesn't want to go back in. Also is there a way to identify any different 1500 starters? Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

Attachments

·
Registered
7,152 Posts
I can't help with the gear issue, but if you could provide any more symptoms (if there are any) like excessive current draw, unusual noise, intermittent switches, etc. that would help us help you.
Bob

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #6