Honda Goldwing Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, i am interested in buying an older wing..... possibly a gl1000 , 1100, or 1200. I have been riding for about 15 years and am 56 years old. I have had several bikes in the past but none as heavy as a wing. My present bikes are a BMW r1200r roadster about 490 pounds wet and a 1996 vfr 750 about 520 pounds. I just bought the VFR and love it and surprisingly don't really notice the weight as much as i traded a 1999Kawasaki zx6r for it . ( which was about 100 pounds lighter ) I am not concerned about the seat height as i have had most or all of my bikes lowered, what i am worried about is the weight of the bike. i am only 5'4" tall and weigh 160 pounds. ......is the wing too much bike for me, any shorter riders out there that can offer some advice. i have owned a Harley superglide in the past which i believe weighs over 600 pounds, but because of the twins lower centre of gravity and very low seat height ( both feet firmly on the ground , i didn't really notice the weight. As a friend of mine said once....you are riding the bike not carrying it. Any advice would be greatly appreciated ....thanks.

·
Administrator
28,997 Posts
Welcome to the GWOF. The Wing can be difficult for riders of small stature. There are lots of options out there to get someone comfortable on one. Lower seats & such.

An Ole Fossil's opinion for you is to find some to look at, possibly sit on & best yet be able to take a ride on so you can judge for yourself. That may be a difficult task but one I'm sure will work best for finding the info.

Good Luck & again Welcome

G

·
Hi Dodi, Welcome! I recently got a GL1800. I don’t know how this compares to 1000, 1100 or 1200.