Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
23,775 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yesterday I was cruising along about 65mph in 5th gear, indicator was lite, when low and behold I felt a jolt , the rpm's jumped up and I realized I was now in 4th gear. Shifted up to 5th gear again and kept myself on alert status for awhile.

·
Registered
402 Posts
Dang! Hope it's not a white '08 problem. :eek: How many miles do you have on it now? Mine's got 9700 and nothing like that's happened to me yet (knock on tupperware).

Ya don't suppose ya just inadvertently touched the shifter, do ya?

·
Premium Member
1,404 Posts
Chopin,

I am NO expert on internals of these bikes but I have had this happen on my 1500 and my 1100, both hondas.

I cannot back this up with science but I believe that you didn't use enough force to fully engage the gears. It rode half engaged until you gave it some throttle, the increased pressure caused it to slip out and then caught 4th.

I did this a couple of weeks ago on the wing and it was exactly what you described. I was getting a little lazy or "easing" the shifter trying not to be hard on the tranny.

Just an opinion using my experiences. I suspect you are being a little too nice on your beautiful bike. I gave the shifter a little harder push and hasn't happened since.

·
Super Moderator
7,673 Posts
In stop and go traffic I had the problem with not giving the shifter a good nudge and it jumped from second to neutral in traffic. I discovered and this works for me, that if I put my toe under the shifter and put a little pressure on it, when the gear change is made it engages better.

·
Premium Member
23,775 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
To all the below: Radar, your next ! ; love2ride, I am of your opinion as to the incident; Lady, the Wings are notorious rough shifters ( a complaint shared by many ), I will try your technique for a smoother shift, a little pressure up before the full toe force.

·
Super Moderator
9,855 Posts