Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
258 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been looking all over the net for information about removing the seat on my Goldwing. The owner's manual gives no info. Can anyone tell me how or where I can find out how to remove the Wing seat? I'll be installing (or having installed) a Utopia backrest and this call for seat removal.

Will appreciate any info on which Honda manual shows a description of how to remove the seat. I'm not very good with mechanical things but I wan't to know how to do this.

Thanks In Advance,
T-Rex

·
Registered
21 Posts
Seat Removal

T-Rex

On an 1800 the rear seat has two hand grips for the passenger. Those grips also screw into the frame. Take the 4 bolts out and move the seat backwards. Make sure your trunk is closed. When you reinstall makes sure the front tab goes in the correct place.

That should do it.

Coastie

·
Registered
1,482 Posts
T-Rex

On an 1800 the rear seat has two hand grips for the passenger. Those grips also screw into the frame. Take the 4 bolts out and move the seat backwards. Make sure your trunk is closed. When you reinstall makes sure the front tab goes in the correct place.

That should do it.

Coastie
It's also easier off and on if you open the trunk lid, remove 2 phillips head screws securing the passenger back rest, close the lid, remove the back rest by pulling up.
Also, if you have the Comfort System, don't forget to unplug the seat and passenger back rest before you remove them completely.
Don't forget to plug them back in! Don't ask why I'm telling you not to forget the plugging back in:D

·
Registered
466 Posts
I disagree, all you have to do is remove the screws holding the passenger hand rails, open the trunk, pull the seat back then lift the front on the seat to clear the tank plastic, lift up then disconnect the seat heater plug, (if equipt )