Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi!

Just bought a 06-GL1800 with 85k miles on it. The guy I got it from was the original owner and he maintain the bike very well. Had a service history and the bike was kept in a garage with his other toys. No fading or major rusting parts. There are like two small brown stop on the front of the engine right behind the front wheel, but I think thats a plastic cover.

Anyways I am about 6'2 and 250, the bike has all standard equipment. Beside a cup holder it doesn't have anything else. Its a non-abs, non-airbag and no navigation. I think its the base model.

However when the OD light comes on I am doing 50mph at 2k rpm....and if i want to go 65mph it will go up to 3k...Now I know i am new to this bike. But I have been riding for about ten years, and this doesn't seem right. Is it a bad air filter? Spark plugs? Clutch? I mean I know if a bike is laden down it will rev higher, but a GL1800/HD-RG/BMW-K1600 these bike don't mind a hefty rider.

I don't know, I feel like 1.8L flat 6 shouldn't be struggling with a heavy guy. Appreciate any input you guys have, I like to know a thing or two before taking it to the mechanic.

·
Registered
369 Posts
The RPMs ranges you list don't have anything to do with load, those are simply the RPMs dictated by the gearing and the size of the rear tire.

If you're accelerating and shifting into 5th gear at 2000 RPMs I'd say that's way too low. You should be shifting into 5th gear at something more like 3000 RPMs, or even higher.

Reactions: Ray Anderson

·
Registered
148 Posts