Honda Goldwing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been told by my Heart Dr.I may need an Implantable Defibrillator put in, if there is anyone riding with one out there I would sure like to hear about it. Thanks in advance.

·
Premium Member
16,742 Posts
I'm not sure what the difference is between a Pace Maker and a Defibrillator.
However I do have a friend that has a Pace Maker and he is still riding.

·
Premium Member
6,714 Posts
Hmmmm, I'd say that would be a bit risky if that defib were to hit you while riding! What did your doctor say about it? Or did you even tell him you ride?

Mark

·
Premium Member
856 Posts
While I have been in the operating room RN and for the last few years...before that I was a critical care nurse. I highly recommend you talk with your doctor. If your defibulator goes off you will lose control compounding you arrhythmia with a wreck. I would be very surprised if he said you can continue riding a bike with this implant. There is a big difference between a defibualtor and a pace maker. The pace maker does just that sends a signal to make up for your SA node where as a defibulator is correcting an arrhythmia...

My opinion and training strongly would be a no...Even in a car it can be problematic. should it go off could be bad...
I know the answer and it will not be what you want to hear. sorry...i even did a search implantable defibulators and riding a motorcycle..a lot of repsonses or hits none that I saw saying something different....

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hmmmm, I'd say that would be a bit risky if that defib were to hit you while riding! What did your doctor say about it? Or did you even tell him you ride?

Mark