Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been riding a Concours for several years now and have recently purchased a 2010 Goldwing (3 weeks and about 1,700 miles ago).

The differences in riding a sport tourer versus a full blown tourer surprised me. The Goldwing was much harder for me to handle than the Concours at slow turning speeds. The steering of the Goldwing takes very little effort and the seated position just feels strange. The Connie requires more effort for a turn as it is much stiffer, but I am used to that and it feels natural along with the sport peg location. I also feel like my feet are too close to the pavement in curves on the Goldwing, but nothing is scraping. ;)

Balancing the bikes at a stop light for a second or so is also harder on the Goldwing than the Connie. I can hold balance on the Connie for 1-2 seconds at full stop, but can't even balance the Goldwing for a second.

Overall I like the Goldwing and the way it performs. I know it is a matter of me getting used to sitting in a different position, and possibly a change in technique in slow turns. I've seen riders who are incredible slow speed riders on the Goldwing so it isn't the bike, but my experience level with it. The only real issue I have with the Goldwing is the throttle at slow speeds - it seems to stick/release off of dead throttle which causes a surge in speed on right hand parking lot manuevering.

Oh yeah, I still have the Concours and probably will until it won't go anymore. Great bike for what it is designed for.

·
Premium Member
23,765 Posts