Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, everyone;
I'm a newbie here, this is my first post, and I have a few questions.
After looking at what's available in the touring market, and considering my personal likes and dislikes, I have decided to resurrect a 1975 GL 1000 Wing that I found at a friends junkyard and turn it into a minimalist tourer. The bike looks like it's in good shape, and already has a Windjammer SS with lowers, and mounts for a set of Vetter bags (can you say, retro??) I'm sure that it's going to need a carb rebuild, new fluids, and maybe a set of new tires. So my questions are...What is parts availability like for older wings? Is stuff still available (I'm thinking specifically of the timing belt, maybe a new gas tank & etc.) Are stock size tires still available? Can you run a tube in a tire designed to be tubeless (this is a pre-Comstar-wheel unit, it still has the stock spoke rims)? Are there other 'gotchas' that I should watch for? I have owned two of this model in the past, but they were both new. I put a lot of mileage on them before I sold them (got married), so I know that they are reliable if properly cared for. If you have any suggestions or advice, please post here or contact me direct (I'll put my email address at the end of this post. Thanks, this is looking like it's going to be a lot of FUN!!

Ride Safe & Sane;
Hank S.
Albuquerque, NM
[email protected]:)

·
Super Moderator
15,237 Posts
you can get timing belts at napa auto parts store along with some other things you may need but do not run tubless tires with spoke wheels as the rim is not sealed and the air will just leak right out and do replace the tires once you get it road wearthy

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3