Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm getting a 83 1100 Goldwing that I'm going to bring back to life.
The guy who owned it bought it new, and took meticulous care of the bike. In 2003 after making a long road trip with the Goldwing, he fell ill and died. He didn't even unpack his gear, the bike is still parked just as he left it in 2003 in his mothers rented unheated garage. She is now too old to drive and no longer needs the garage and says the bike has to go.
I thought this would be a good place to go for advice. I was an auto mechanic for many years and I've owned and repaired bikes before, but I've never touched a Goldwing before. So I would appreciate any pointers or advice I can get about any special Goldwing things to check and so on.
I know I'm looking at new tires and new battery. I'm thinking the carbs will have to come off and be cleaned and or rebuilt.
I'm also worried about what shape the gastank is in.

Any help will be much appreciated.
Thanks!
Cruisin

·
Super Moderator
15,217 Posts
rebuild the carbs you can get rebuild kits here ... http://www.randakks.com/
get the gas tank flushed out too. do an oil change, put in a battery, do a tuneup, and fire it up. if its running good change all fluids and the timing belts, check brakes, service the driveshaft and rear gear. check head and swingarm bearings. check speedo and tach cable. get new tires

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks William for the reply.
I hadn't thought about the timing belt.
I have a feeling the parts list will keep growing.

·
Administrator
26,225 Posts
Belt(s) Cruisin! One for each cylinder bank. You can get them at NAPA for about $40 I think. Over and above that list detdrbuzzard gave you, it would be a good idea to thoroughly inspect all rubber hoses and lines. The bike was in good order when it stopped, so hopefully things aren't too deteriorated.