Honda Goldwing Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm hoping you guys can help me? When starting my bike the clock constantly resets back to 1:00. Not only that but the odometer goes back to zero and i lose the settings for the suspension? I have no idea what the problem is and i'm wondering if this is a problem with Goldwings or something rare? Any ideas on what the problem could be will be welcomed...

·
Registered
65 Posts
You left out some details, year and model would be nice! I am by NO means a GW expert, but from years of experience with cars and hot rods, let me say that it sounds like a voltage issue. It could be that battery voltage drops low enough cranking to lose memory, but I would guess it is more likely that where ever the power is tapped for these items is the issue. Meaning that there is a voltage drop due to other draws from the same line, or similar issue. Is the bike all original??? or have there been "repairs" done in the past. Try using jumper cables from a running car and see if the same thing happens. A running car should assure that battery voltage is not an issue. If it still gives you trouble, break out the wiring diagrams and make sure things are wired the way they should be. Check connections, these are places for resistance, and resistance will cause voltage drop.
hope this helps.
tom

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Tom. The bike is an 03. There have been things added to the bike such as lights and other things. The battery is only a year old. Last year it only happened every so often but i've riden it a few times so far this season and now it's doing it everytime i crank up..

·
Registered
65 Posts