Honda Goldwing Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
204 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
One month, 2500 miles. Some thoughts.

I got my ’12 GL level 3 a little more than a month ago and I now have a little more than 2500 miles on the clock, most the miles put on the first two weeks while on vacation. Figured I’d share some of my thoughts so far.

For some background, I’ve been riding for over 30 years, currently also have a ’06 Moto Guzzi Breva 1100. All have been naked bikes.

I’ll start by saying I’m really loving the wing and any negatives listed here are very minor, but negatives (to me) none the less.

The likes:

• I was very surprised on how it handles. While not a sport bike by any means, it does handle very well with its low center of gravity.
  • Lots of getup and go.
  • Smooth and quiet.
  • Comfort. As I get older comfort is getting more important in all things.
  • Cleans up easy. This is my first fairinged bike. I like not having to clean bugs out of all the nooks and crannies.
  • Puts a huge grin on my face!

Dislikes or wish list items.

• GPS. I have a Zumo 550 and 665 and think the built in GPS just doesn’t compare.
  • 1st gear. While I can understand having a low 1st gear, it just isn’t very smooth and getting on and off the throttle in 1st isn’t very pleasant. This could very possibly be rider error and just a matter of getting better used to it, but once I shift into 2nd it is a very different (better) experience.
  • 6th gear. It would be nice to have one.
  • Electric windshield. Very minor, but would be nice.
  • Electric center stand. I have a friend with a BMW and would love to have his center stand. For the geek factor only.
  • Display to show current and average fuel mileage. My Jeep has a miles to empty display, that would be very nice on a bike.
  • Display temperature without having to press a button.

From 1 to 10 I'm giving it a 9.5.

Looking forward to putting many, many more miles on it.

·
Registered