Honda Goldwing Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've some experience with smaller bikes. I'm buying an older Goldwing tomorrow. It's a good deal. I couldn't find any owners' manuals online and the fellow I'm getting it from doesn't have one.

I'm supposed to drive this beastie home tomorrow, across 55 miles of urban region without much more than an up and down his street for orientation. Hell, I had to "Google" the shift configuration.

I'm a little nervous. Most of my experience was on mid-sized bikes back in the 70s and 80s. I had a Helix last year, and rode it often.

The fellow that owns this, bought it a year ago... has ridden it half a dozen times with supervision, but still doesn't have a motorcycle endorsement. He was shocked I was willing to ride it having never ridden a Goldwing before. I think he lost interest in it. It's a bit intimidating and I'm not sure what his experience level was before he bought it.

I put a call out to a local Veterans Club that rides together. I know some of them, but nothing back yet. While I may have some pride, I have no shame about asking for help. I'm a lifelong learner, as they say.

Well that's it. That's my "newcomer" howdy. This looks to be a very informative, even essential resource for me, and I look forward to hanging out here.

That is, if I survive the ride back from Snohomish tomorrow... lol.

EEK :United_States:

·
Super Moderator
15,178 Posts