Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
23,763 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
.... sort of. I have the Scala G4 Wireless headsets that require charging, by definition. The units come with a 110v (120v ) wall charger plug base along with a plug in cord which can also be plugged into a USB computer port for charging. The wall charger base reads on the back label " Output 5.0 Volts @ 1.0 A " . I have a car charger power plug adapter with a USB connection cable that is rated at " Output 5.0 Volts @ 2.0A.". There is a 1A difference between my car charger and the Scala G4 wall charger. I'm not an electrical engineer, I'm a Garage Door mechanic. Is the 1A difference in output irrelevant ?

·
Registered
5,100 Posts
The only difference is that the one can supply up to 2 amps and the other can supply 1 amp. It will or should work fine. Its the load that determines how much amperage is drawn. Probably means it has a little larger wire than the 1 amp.

·
Banned
3,186 Posts
.... sort of. I have the Scala G4 Wireless headsets that require charging, by definition. The units come with a 110v (120v ) wall charger plug base along with a plug in cord which can also be plugged into a USB computer port for charging. The wall charger base reads on the back label " Output 5.0 Volts @ 1.0 A " . I have a car charger power plug adapter with a USB connection cable that is rated at " Output 5.0 Volts @ 2.0A.". There is a 1A difference between my car charger and the Scala G4 wall charger. I'm not an electrical engineer, I'm a Garage Door mechanic. Is the 1A difference in output irrelevant ?
Your usb charger will work to charge the Scala headset. Plan on it taking quite awhile as the USB limits it's output. I can charge my Kindle Fire off of my USB on the laptop. It takes 3 or 4 hours.

·
Registered
741 Posts
I have the G4 and charge it from whatever USB port is available. You're fine.

·
Administrator
26,225 Posts