Honda Goldwing Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I've been riding motorcycles since 1992, but, aside from rentals, never had a GoldWing until this week. Picked up a 1990 with a California Sidecar Company Friendship III. I'm hoping to ride both solo and with sidecar, but will stick with just sidecar for a bit til the weather is warmer.

Since it is still fairly cold, I'd like to make some tweaks now, when I won't mind it being hung up. But being totally new to the Wing, I was hoping I could get some advice from people who have or had the 1500.

- lower windshield--how long does it take to swap out windshields? for the warmer months, I'd like a tinted shorty. But stock (or perhaps even an aftermarket taller one) are critical in the cooler weather. Is it realistic to hope it's easy to swap regularly? How many minutes to change?

- stereo upgrades--anyone with a 1500 upgrade the stereo, ideally to something that accepts an iPod auxiliary feed (through the iPod power connection (so it charges it), not just the headphone jack).

- this bike came with a hardwired intercom system--anyone have experience hooking their iPhone to this and being able to make calls? or should I just forget this is even on there and go for a full Bluetooth configuration?

- debadging? the various places it says "GoldWing" and "1500" around the bike are not to my taste (don't know if they all came in gold or this was an option--if they were silver/chrome, I may not mind them as much). On my Honda Fury I used a blow dryer to warm them up and remove them--can I do the same on the Wing?

- front brake covers -- the plastic over the brakes, is that functional/necessary? I think I'd prefer the look of seeing the wheel/brakes more, just curious

Thanks!!!!
Phil Augur

·
Premium Member
7,510 Posts