Honda Goldwing Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Goldwingers. Been riding 50 years off and on, but now I'm taking on a project of resurrecting a 83 GL1100 that has sat unused in a garage for the last 18 years. I've never worked on a Goldwing before so I'm sure I can use some help. I've been a mechanic of one kind or another for most my life, so I'm not without some skills. The Goldwing was in good shape when parked, but the owner died suddenly and the bike just sat there. About 10 years ago I helped move the bike to a new location and while I was there pulled the sparkplugs and shot some oil in the cylinders and cranked it over a few times. It has not been touched since. So my plans are to replace the timing belts, clean the gas tank and replace the fuel lines and put kits in the carbs. The brake hydraulics are a mess. If anyone has some suggestions, I'd be more than happy to hear them. I'm not sure if I should get the timing belt kit with water pump and tensioners, or just do the belts.
Thanks for the welcome. Chris
Tire Wheel Automotive parking light Vehicle Automotive lighting

Registered
Welcome to the forum and wishing you miles of smiles.馃榿 I would suggest that you do the water pump and belts as it has been sitting for so long. But before you start to buy parts I would try to see if the engine is free and in good shape with a compression and leak down test.

Reactions: Shaffer and Limpy45

Super Moderator
Hello and welcome to the forum.

Reactions: Shaffer and Limpy45

Premium Member
Welcome to the forum from Maryland

Reactions: Shaffer

Super Moderator
Welcome to the GWOF from the Keystone state. Looks like you have a great project ahead of you, but it will be well worth it when you finish.

Registered
Welcome from the northern tier of PA. Enjoy the forum and ride safe.

Administrator