Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am new to motorcycles and started riding scooters 3 years ago - never realised what fun it was! I moved up from a 49CC in '07, to a 500 Aprilia Scarabeo in '08 and then a Suzuki Burgman 400 in '09. The scooters were great fun, but the thrill was gone at the end of last year, after about 15K mikes of local riding, mostly back roads with other family members.

Based on what I've read on this site and how much you folks like riding Goldwings, I stopped in at the local Honda dealer today and traded in the Burgy for a 2006 Goldwing GL-1800; total cost $13,500 (35K miles, airbag & ABS). I'll be picking it up in two weeks. I took the weekend safety course and got my motorcycle licence 3 years ago, but have never had to do any shifting since then, because I've been driving scooters. The dealer is going to let me get up-to-speed in his parking lot before driving the Goldwing home and I have an instructor friend who will be there to coach me. What's the chance I'll crash and burn before going home on the back roads.

My next trick will be going 2-up for some long distance touring. I'm not sure how much experience I should get before trying this.

·
Super Moderator
28,454 Posts
1st Dave welcome to the site. Now let's talk. You have done some good things, some experiance on two wheels, msf course, & coach. Having said that I would like to caution you a little. A quick crash course in the shops parking lot won't be terrible but isn't really going to get you acclimated to the Wing. Make no mistake this is a lot of motorcycle both in weight (over 800 lbs) & power 1800cc & it can get up & go. Take it easy, relax & be careful. Now on the 2 up question if I was you with the experiance you have I would refrain from passenger for a good long time maybe even the entire riding season this year but that is truly up to your confidence just be weary that would be all I would ask.