Honda Goldwing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I'm new to the Goldwing, but I have a few other Hondas in the garage. I've been on the hunt for a CB900 or a good CB750 to start a custom build. While I was driving to work, I saw a 77 GL1000 that caught my eye. I then started to come up with some good ideas, most of which it seems others have also come up with. The GL1000 was stripped down, ran well, and was mostly what I was looking for... but it hadn't been registered or road worthy is 20 years. Had wire wheels, and dry rotted tires (and other minor electrical issues).

This caused me to start a new search, which turns out was easier than the CB search. Lots of cheap-ish goldwings.

I ended up driving 70 miles to check out (and buy) an 82 GL1100 that was all ready stripped of the fairing and luggage.

It was a long cold wobbly ride home. This guy I got it from was a self proclaimed mechanic, and it was dark. The tires were dry rotted (not as bad as the 77), and wires were twisted together. The fan wires fell apart on the way home, and I got up to the center line on the thermo.... and the tach quit working about half way home. It has some chatter at very low RPM, but if I slip the clutch a little and revi it up I can get past it. Only issue is going around turns slow it does it. Timing belt? clutch?

Here's a pic of it with my other Hondas (some in various states of build).

And here's what I do with my other Hondas.
feel free to visit www.twfwe.com

·
Premium Member
3,596 Posts
Z, I was at the festival Saturday. I saw some of your group crossing an intersection, weaving through the foot traffic. If I had seen these photos earlier, I'd have come looking for you.

Welcome to the GWOF. Lots of good technical help here, but I have a feeling you're going to give more than you'll ask for.