Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the Goldwing thinking of buying one off Craigslist or somewhere to work on and to ride here and there dont have a clue which ones to stay away from or what to look for when buying one I own two bikes now and been riding about forty years on and off now so not totally new just new to Goldwings and any help would be appreciated THANKS GUYS

·
Super Moderator
7,665 Posts
Hello and welcome to the forum.
You may want to stay some what current with a decent GL1500.
GL1000, 1100 and 1200 have internal stators and if it goes bad you must remove the entire engine. On 1500 and 1800 models they are automotive style alternators.
Most 1500's have upgraded alternators.
GL1200 and 1500 have hydraulic lifters and the others do not.
You have fuel injected 1200's built in 1985 and 1986 known as the Limited and Aspencade SEi. Speaking of Limited if you find a 1976 with gold wheels and a Limited emblem you've got a keeper.
Whether you're hunting for a Classic Wing or just a Wing in general, Good Luck in your search.

·
Banned
3,204 Posts

Welcome to the GWOF from Seattle.

You won't regret buying a 1500 Wing. You can get your money back anytime you want. They are reliable and plentiful.

Nothing wrong with an 1000, 1100 or 1200 except that parts become scare. These bikes really have a classic look to them.

·
Registered
2,835 Posts
I would look at nothing older than a 1500 Gold Wing. 1200's have stator problems and a bike that old is hard to get parts for.

·
Super Moderator
28,446 Posts
Just from a parts/age side of it. 90's & up 1500. Now having said that your budget would have something to say to that as well. There will most likely be some decent deals coming up with the winter getting ready to rear it's head.

Here is a link to a good history of Wings explaining models, differences & changes through the years.

http://www.goldwingfacts.com/goldwinghistory.htm

·
Super Moderator