Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
My name is Tim and I bought a 1992 Goldwing Aspencade today. I have been riding a 1985 Suzuki GV700 Madura for the last 4 1/2 years and wanted something that is more comfortable for the wife and myself. The Wing has 57,000 miles showing and looks like it came off the showroom floor. I can't wait to get some saddle time! Any pointers for someone going from a 550 lb. sport cruiser to a Goldwing is appreciated. Also, are there any mechanical details that I need to be aware of or check?

·
Registered
263 Posts
Welcome Tim,you've come to a great place. The biggest thing to get used to at first is the fairing not moving when steering,and you can't see the front wheel. You are experienced,so won't take long. Next is slow speed turning.like U turns and parking lot stuff.Do a good bit of practice at this before adding the misses. Once you are used to this thing,you and your wife are gonna love it! These bikes handle surprisingly well for there size/weight.Does yours have reverse? If so,my advice is try to use it sparingly,after all ,your starter is what makes it go backwards.Ride often and Safe.Ken 94SE Pearl White. My previous ride was lighter than yours.'82 Kaw1000CSR,470lbs.

·
Super Moderator
28,453 Posts