Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, New to the site and new to Wings. Just purchased my first one 2 months ago (a present to myself for being in the middle east for 2 years) I have been riding various bikes for 30 years, last was a 2000 Nomad 1500. Here's my problem. When I got my Wing it was the smoothest ride I have had in a long time, then around 2000 miles I started to pick up a vibration at 60-80 mph. I was on a trip and I then noticed a nasty wobble at 35-45 coasting (with my hands on the bars) Honda says have a good day that is normal. My question is if it was normal why didn't it do it the first 2000miles but is doing it now. Dunlop had Honda check the balance and run out on the front tire (OK). Has anyone had any real sucess getting a dealer to stand behind their bike? I realy don't want to dump a grand into my new bike to fix something that shouldn't be wrong to begin with.:eek:

·
Registered
23 Posts
Welcome to the club my friend. I also have an 09 wing with the exact front wheel wobble. In checking with a trusted GL1800 trike dealer friend of mine, he informed me that this is NORMAL on the late model Gl1800's. Nothing mechanical known to Honda dealers can fix this problem. As I understand from my trike buddy, there is a lawsuit in the works against Honda for this problem. Keep your bucks in your pocket and standby. There may be a factory rercall in the near future. Lets hope so!

·
Registered
2,835 Posts