Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello to Goldwing owners!

I'm brand new to the Goldwing Owners site and in fact I'm brand new to the world of Goldwing motorcycles.

A friend just gave me a Goldwing Interstate that he purchased new in 1984. Bill put 60,000 (mostly highway miles) on this bike when it suddenly developed an engine miss that felt as if the bike was running on 3 cylinders. Bill made an attempt to fix the problem by rebuilding the carbs thinking that this was the problem. He discovered that this did not fix the carbs and ultimately lost interest in the bike and did not proceed further with trying to fix the bike. As a result he threw a tarp over it and it has been sitting for the last four years. I'm going to trailer it home next Tuesday and begin a long winter of work on this bike.

I know I will need to completely clean the fuel system and again rebuild the carbs since it has been sitting so long and I was wondering if it would be a good idea to pull the spark plugs and pour in a tablespoon or two of Sea Foam or Marvel's Mystery oil into each plug hole and then crank the engine over a few times and allow it to work all winter long.

Also, can anyone give me some pointers on how to search out the orginal engine miss problem? Or, should I just clean the fuel system, rebuild the carbs and then next spring fire it up and then check for a bad plug or plug wire should I find that the miss still exists?

Bill also mentioned that he really babied this bike during the first 60,000 miles of its life and basically rode it like an old lady. Could it be that the bike just needs to be taken out on the highway and have the cobs kicked out of it?

Harkgold

·
Super Moderator
15,235 Posts
hello harkgold, welcome to GWOF

·
Banned
3,204 Posts

Welcome to the GWOF from Seattle.