Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought a '86 GL1200 Aspencade over the weekend. A big step up from the Nighthawk 750 I've been riding the last three years.

Suggestions for a complete newbie are welcomed. Original Craigslist ad is here: http://boulder.craigslist.org/mcy/2558699996.html

Paint is very faded, the bike is pretty dirty, so I suspect I'll have some work to do. It does cold start well, but seems pretty loud to me... may just be the difference in engine size.

·
Super Moderator
15,235 Posts
hello gimble, welcome to GWOF. congrats on the purchase of the new wing. 1200 wings and all wings are quiet bikes with the stock un-modded exhaust but some owners just have to have some noise

·
Premium Member
5,390 Posts
welcome to GWOF from Maryland

·
Premium Member
7,205 Posts
Welcome to the forum....750 to 1200 is a big step, but you will get used to the change and never look back.

·
Super Moderator
9,844 Posts
Welcome to the GWOF from Pa and congrats on your new Wing. Ride safe..

·
Super Moderator
11,784 Posts
Congratulations on the purchase and welcome to the forum.

One of the first things you will want to check are the three yellow wires to the left of the battery. They originally went through a connector that had a tendency to overheat and melt. Make sure it has been repaired correctly or it could cause severe problems.

·
Super Moderator
11,784 Posts
The battery is under the left side cover, the right side cover on your bike is burgundy. Carefully remove the cover by pulling it straight out from the bike.

·
Premium Member
11,001 Posts
Congratulations on your 1200 wing from Down Under. Still a newbe to the wing world but I am clocking them miles up fast. Eric

·
Registered
119 Posts
Congrats on your new-to-you 1200! Shine it up real purdy & put some miles on it.

I went from a 150cc scooter to a GL1100 in one step (about 10 years ago), and that was pretty scary!