Honda Goldwing Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My new battery went dead today, just replaced in August. Dealer said it was completely shot and replaced it warranty.

When I re-installed after charging, touching the terminal I drew a small arc on the terminal. retouched again and no spark much like a capacitor charging. Waited a while and touched with a spark and retried again and no spark. Not a dead short but my question is

does the clock and some other electronics cause this small arc or should I be looking for a faulty componet???

thanks in advance

·
Registered
365 Posts
spark?

Yes, the clock is always drawing a small amount of energy to maintain the memory. But, if the spark is large..something else is staying on..maybe a sticking relay. I'm no expert by any measure, someone who knows more will be along I'm sure.:)

·
Super Moderator
7,610 Posts
The clock and radio memory draw a little to hold the information. A small spark may be present.
A large spark like mentioned above would indicate a stuck relay, an accessory or added lights or something that would be live when the battery is connected.
I know in the service manual it lists the draw from the negative battery cable to the negative battery post with a meter in line and key off. If there is excess draw then something is active.

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Has anyone seen the spark at first, then touch again with no spark and then let sit a couple of minutes, touch it again with a spark? Like I said it seems just like a capacitor charging and dis-charging..??

Many thanks for the inputs

·
Premium Member
790 Posts