Honda Goldwing Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Not absolutely certain, but could swear that music heard on my bike at speed changes pitch with a rapid acceleration or deceleration. It seems much more noticable on some music than others. But at times I can hear a definite changing of the pitch of the well known notes as my speed changes. If I am not crazy, I assume this is related to the Doppler effect, or to to go probably too far, the space-time part of physics. I am a musician, so I am pretty sensitive to pitch. Science, not so much. Has anyone else noticed this? Anyone have a scientific evaluation of the phenomom? And no, I have not been smoking anything.

·
Registered
835 Posts
Doppler Effect -

Hey Silver, I'm sure (as a music guy) you realize that the Doppler effect is the result of a sound wave being added to or subtracted from the speed of a moving transmitter. Like a train blowing it's whistle while coming toward you sounds higher in pitch. Then as it passes by, the pitch suddenly appears to go lower.

Are you noticing the change in pitch to be following the engine rpm - inside your helmet using headphones or just listening to the external speakers with no helmet. Naturally, there are filters within all of the automotive/motorcycle stereos specifically tuned to canx out an assortment of engine related noises. If you are hearing the shift in the music pitch caused by the wind direction blowing past your windshield - man you should be working in a music studio somewhere.

At my age, I'm sometimes not even sure if the stereo is still playing until I slow down, much less be able to determine if the music is changing pitch slightly with ground speed and/or engine rpm....:)

Michael

·
Super Moderator
7,606 Posts
I was thinking about the AVC (Automatic Volume Control), as the speed of the bike increases or decreases the radio volume will increase and decrease.

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·