Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Folks,

Sorry for this oil question. I've been using Mobil 1 full syn for many years in my 1500. I've always spent the extra for their motorcycle specific stuff. Today I bought their 10W-40 full synthetic 4 cycle motorcycle oil and it is listed as "API SM,SJ,SH/CF JASO MA".

When I looked at my manual is says to use SF or SG. I checked my old Mobil 1 full syn motorcycle oil that I've been using and it show SF/SG - but as noted above, this new stuff does not.

In other words, nowhere on the new Mobil 1 motorcycle oil for 4 cycle engines does it have shown the SF or SG. I've got the bike drained and the oil ready to pour - but thought I would check with you folks before putting in. Many thanks.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Article adds to my confusion. "...SL and SM ratings have friction reduction modifiers which shouldn't be used with wet clutch." The Mobil 1 4-T motorcycle oil has SM listed among others. However, it also has the JASCO MA rating.

·
Premium Member
23,770 Posts
Article adds to my confusion. "...SL and SM ratings have friction reduction modifiers which shouldn't be used with wet clutch." The Mobil 1 4-T motorcycle oil has SM listed among others. However, it also has the JASCO MA rating.
" Always use JASO MA grade oil . It doesnt matter what the API rating is , if its JASO MA - you are guaranteed that the clutch won't slip and as long as the oil is not API SL and above you are guaranteed that the oil is not harming the engine. All the relevant links are given below. " ~ Read from the article in question.

·
Registered
1,482 Posts
Wasn't going to comment on another oil thread however,
Use what is noted in the owners manual, weight range and spec's. While "others" may or may not do any harm, why take the chance.