Honda Goldwing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This may seem a little strange, but I am curious about the mesh riding jacket and pants. I have been riding for about 15 years but have never worn any of the armored gear...mainly because I live in Florida and the heat and humidity is something awful.

Do any of you have any recommendations for types/brand(s) of gear and here's the odd question... how do you wear it? Specifically, do you wear jeans underneath, shorts underneath, or "even less"? If so, how do you keep them clean and keep them from getting funky? Do they breathe well or are they like rain gear and you sweat your rear off while wearing them?

I'm planning a cross country ride next spring/early summer and feel like I need something; especially since I'm not getting any younger (I'm 62+). Any comments, recommendations or general knowledge you might want to pass on about this subject would be greatly appreciated...

·
Registered
522 Posts
I wear Klim gortex jacket and pants. I can open all vents, lower windshield and direct Baker Air Wings to stay comfortable while moving when below 90 degrees. Klim is not cheap gear,

Olympia Air jacket n pants I hear are good breathable and protective. Pants have full zipper from waist to cuff so easy to get out of.

I have Joe Rocket mesh jacket that I use if really hot and little forecast of rain.

I wear shorts under Klim pants and take off if stopping to eat or some other activity.

·
Registered
91 Posts
I have worn mesh gear for about 12 years and have ridden quite a lot in FL. It is like sitting behind a screen door, in the shade, with a fan blowing through it. So what ever the ambient temp is, that is what you get.

It also keeps the sun off the skin, which automatically feels ten degrees cooler. On the Vtx with no screen, if it is not at least 80 degrees, I am chilled without the liner. On the Wings, I don’t put the liner in until around 65 degrees or so.