Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been lurking a little bit while shopping for a Wing. Found one with, yes, 750 miles! The original owners says he had hip replacement in '07 after buying the bike and just hasn't felt comfortable on it since the surgery. He's 62 yrs old and just doesn't want to handle it anymore.

Now...

What questions would you have if you were looking at it?
What things would you look at closely?
When riding, what would you "feel", listen, or look out for?
Anything else?

BTW, I currently ride an '05 Honda VTX 1300R. Thanks in advance for your help! :)

·
Premium Member
23,771 Posts
timjoe: Just came off an '06 VTX1300C last November. Have a rental property in Woodstock, VA and travel the Rt 211 route out your way often. Boy ! This Wing was not even broken in. As I'm new to Goldwings, I'm not much on tech support yet. The obvious parts that are not worn are the brakes. The tires, in most members opinions here , are getting close to their " shelf life ", regardless of miles. Your question asks " What items can go bad with time, rather than with usage ? " I'll have to leave that sage advice to the sage members here. How much for the bike ?

·
Super Moderator
9,851 Posts
First welcome to the forum from Pennsylvania.

As far as the Wing.... First thing I would do is find out when it was purchased. If the purchase date is less than 3 year old, then I would buy the extended warranty. ($499 from:

http://www.directlineparts.com/

Then I would change the oil and filter (I would use dino oil for the first change). You might want to drain the gas and fill with fresh. Put some Seafoam in the fresh tank. Check the fluids and go riding. Take it easy for the first couple hundred miles to make sure everthing seats on the engine. Tires should be okay, (check for cracks in the sidewalls), but may have a flat spot on them if the bike has been sitting on the side stand instead of the center stand.

·