Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the Wing world. Just got my 97 SE about a month ago. Since then, I have trailered it up to the North Carolina/TN/GA mountains for a week stay. Put about 1000 miles on the bike over the course of a week riding through all the mountain roads 2 up with the wife. I was very familiar with these roads as I have ridden them many times on my sportbike. Anyways, I used this as a test for my wife. To see how she would like riding as a pillion through roads like that and for 8-10 hours a day. Well, she loved it. So...that gives me permission to start planning longer trips. Yay!

So, I currently live in central Florida and my family is from and I grew up in North Eastern Massachusetts. Next summer, I would like to plan a trip on the wing from here to there. I would like to stay mainly off highway as much as possible after Atlanta.

For those that have done long distance rides like this, how long did it take you? I have made the trip in a car in 22 hours straight via highway. On the bike I am guessing 3-4 days with stops? How much cargo did you manage to take? Harbor Freight trailer is a possibility.

How to deal with mechanical issues? Tires I think would last the trip. Did you plow through storms or take cover?

In the very early stages of planning so any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!!
Cory

·
Registered
117 Posts