Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I want to learn how to ride and I want to do it on a goldwing everybody keep telling me to start with something smaller I have yieled to a older wing but a goldwing it will be any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Super Moderator
15,237 Posts
hello and welcome to GWOF coltrane, i would get something smaller than a wing as a first bike. if i could afford them both i would get a wing and something smaller to learn on and ride the other bike for a season before taking on a wing. can you ride already ? how about a mfs course?

Reactions: HappyTrails

·
Registered
20 Posts
If you don't want to be totally embarrassed and want to live through the experience get something smaller to learn on.

I have been riding bikes for 40 years and here is my experience with the Gold Wing. It is difficult for me to stop at stoplights etc. because the bike is wider and it is awkward for me to put my feet down. It is heavier than most bikes so I need to make sure I start braking sooner and leave more distance between me and the vehicle ahead of me. I feel more noticeable and protected on the wing, which gives me a false sense of security. It is hard for me to remember that I am invisible on the wing.

Remember this:
The vast majority of people who die on a bike have ridden less than 5 months. You are invisible.

In fact, you have an equal chance of dying on a bike as in a car if you follow the following criteria:
Have more than 5 months experience riding
Have no alcohol in your system
Do not speed
Have taken a safety course or 2
Wear protective and not black clothing

What you want and what is safe are 2 different things. An investment of one season on a smaller bike may save your life.

·
Super Moderator
15,237 Posts