Honda Goldwing Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I just started riding a street bike for the first time this year. I road dirt bikes my hole life. But I purchased my first street bike a Suzuki boulevard at the beginning of the summer. I absolutely love it. Well last week I was talking to my son's boss about riding and he told me about his first bike a 1986 Honda Gold Wing Asencade that he still had. He then asked if I would be interested in it. I said it all depends on the price and conditions. He then said I can take a look at it because it was here in a office thats not used and if I want it he would take $300.00 for it .I was thinking owe great this thing is going to be a basket case or something.but when he took the cover off it I couldn't believe it it looked new i couldn't find a scratch on it. he told me it has about 4000 miles on it and after the first summer he had it he parked it here for the winter and just never did anything with it after that so it has been sitting in this spot for the past 35+ years. Of course I gave him $300.00 on the spot. The problem is he didn't prep it for storage.it had about 3 gallons of gas in it that I drained out. I'm not Sure what else should be done to it before I try starting it for the first time in 35 years. Any advice would be greatly appreciated And if anyone knows what this is worth because I'm not Shure if I'm going to keep it it kinda big for a new rider. Thanks

·
Registered
6,986 Posts
Welcome to the forum and congratulations on your "barn find." Changing the timing belts should be high on your list. Anything rubber is suspect and probably needs to be changed out. The carbs need to be rebuilt. The fuel tank needs to be drained and inspected/treated for rust. The clutch and brake fluids need to be flushed and replaced. Tires need to be replaced. The list goes on.

·
Registered
689 Posts