Honda Goldwing Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Banned
466 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
On Wednesday & Thursday I rode from Ludlow, California to Platte City MO, 1522 miles in under 22 hours. All so I could run a half-marathon today, Saturday, and start the ride home tomorrow.

Ride Details here

·
Super Moderator
10,004 Posts
Congrats.......

·
Premium Member
5,350 Posts
Congrats as well. I just started riding end of July after 35 years without a bike, and just did my 1st one 4 weeks ago. I am hooked. I have plenty more in me before I get planted 6 feet down, I hope.

Well done.

·
Administrator
29,020 Posts
Very good Johno.

·
Registered
838 Posts
Long Distance Riding -

I've been riding for about 40 years with only a few relatively modest mishaps. Granted - like many, when I was younger, I occasionally stayed in the saddle for more miles than good sense would allow. On one exhausting trip through Arizona I actually rode long enough to see an ostrich running down interstate in front of me at 4 am. To this day I can still see him looking back at me over his outstretched wings. I immediately pulled off into the desert, threw down my sleeping bag and slept until a patrolman woke me the next morning investigating a body beside the road.

I’ve known a couple of Iron Butt participants but have yet to hear a real good reason for them to take on the competition. What are your feelings ?

Michael

·
Banned
466 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·