Honda Goldwing Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Banned
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I purchased, this past summer, a 1996 GoldWing GL1500SE. I am not able to lock the front forks. I have a Clymer manual but can find nothing that even mentions the lock. I have tried it with the front wheel turned both left and right, but the key will not engage it at all. I have even tried it with the bike on the center stand and the weight off the front wheel, to no avail.
This is my first post. Any information would be greatly appreciated. I just started riding, again, after a 35 year hiatus. I have owned Harleys, a Triumph Bonnie and the last bike that I owned was a Hodaka for off road fun.

·
Registered
334 Posts
It should be as simple as turning the front wheel all the way to the left while turning the key all the way counter clock wise. If it will not lock it may be that some one has sheered the pin off. Is there any thing that is keeping the front wheel from turning all the way to the left? Just my two cents but it does sound like the locking pin has been sheered off,could have happened from falling over with front end locked causing it to sheer off or some one tried to steal the bike and damaged it. Good luck Hal

·
Super Moderator
10,004 Posts
Try depressing the key down when you have the wheel turned all the way left or right.

·
Registered
365 Posts
fork lock?

I had the same issue with my '88. I think over time and lack of use the pin gets gummed up....or stuck.
I used some PB blaster on mine.( sparingly )...it took a few tries, but after it worked it's way in the lock ( pin ) works perfectly.
The forks can be locked to the left or to the right.
I recommend using some light oil on it to keep it freed up.
As mentioned, the key needs to be "pushed" into the lock then turned counter-clockwise while the forks are turned fully in either direction..:D

·
Registered
365 Posts